AFCON 2021 Q: Desser, Ehizubue Earn First Call Up, As Iheanacho Returns


AFCON 2021 Q: Desser, Ehizubue Earn First Call Up, As Iheanacho Returns

By Sampson Adedeji

Ahead of the 2021 African Cup of Nations qualifiers against Sierra Leone, Nigeria’s Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has handed a call up to the duo of Cyril Desser of Heracles and FC Koln Kingsley Ehizubue.

The lists of players which was released on Wednesday afternoon also witnessed the return of Leicester city forward Kelechi Iheanacho who missed the last AFCON in Egypt, BSN Reports.

Apart from the newly invited duo, there was no surprise inclusion or exclusion from the regular players who has been part of the team.

Nigeria who is topping the table after back to back win will host Sierra Leone in the first leg before going to Freetown for the second leg.

Full list

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany).

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Wigan, England); Chidozie Awaziem (Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino, Italy); Jamilu Collins (Padeborn, Germany); Semi Ajayi (WestBrom, England); Kingsley Ehizibue (FC Koln, Germany).

Midfielders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Etebo Oghenekaro (Getafe FC, Spain); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, S.Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton, England); Victor Osimhen (Lille, France); Moses Simon (Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain); Cyril Dessers (Heracles, Netherlands); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester, Eng); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux, France)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here