Best Fifa Football Awards 2020: Lewandowski wins men’s player of the year, as Klopp wins coach of the year


Poland and Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski has been crowned 2020 Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year, reports.

Lewandowski beat off competition from Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to land the award.

The Best FIFA Football Awards were held on Thursday evening in a virtual event due to the COVID pandemic, hosted in Zurich, Switzerland by former Milan star Ruud Gullit.

Lewandowski had also been the favourite for the Ballon d’Or, but France Football decided not to assign it for 2020.

It has been a memorable year for the Polish striker who won the Bundesliga, DFB-Pokal, UEFA Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, German Super Cup.

Also, he was crowned UEFA Men’s Forward of the Year, UEFA Men’s Player of the Year and Bundesliga Player of the Year.

He scored 55 goals in 47 matches with 10 assists.

The former Borussia Dortmund star was in the running for the Golden Shoe award as top scorer in European league football for 2019-20, but was pipped to the post by Lazio hitman Ciro Immobile.

Klopp wins best coach award again

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp was recognised for leading Liverpool to their first Premier League title by being named the best men’s coach for the second successive year.

The German won the award in 2019 after lifting the Champions League with Liverpool and beat Bayern Munich Hansi Flick and Leeds boss Marcelo Bielsa to the top honour this year.

“I am [shocked],” said Klopp.

“I have so many people to thank and most of all my coaches. If I had known we’d won it my coaches would be here with me. What we did in the last year is all about these boys.

“We didn’t dream 30 years but we dream already for a few years. It was absolutely exceptional and we all had a special year in an unfortunately not so positive way but for Liverpool fans at least we could make some highlights in a tricky period. I had no idea how it would feel and it felt absolutely overwhelming.”

Neuer named best men’s goalkeeper

There was more success for Bayern Munich as Manuel Neuer won the best men’s goalkeeper award, beating Atletico Madrid’s Jan Oblak and Liverpool’s Alisson to the recognition.

The Germany international conceded just 31 goals in 33 games for Bayern in the Bundesliga and made a number of crucial saves in the Champions League knockout stages to help his side get to the final.

Son’s super strike earns best goal award

Tottenham forward Son Heung-min won the Puskas award for the best goal scored with his superb solo effort against Burnley last year.

The South Korea international ran from one box to the other, cutting through the Clarets defence before finishing.

“It was so nice,” said Son. “When I got the ball, I tried to pass, received it in my own box, couldn’t find any option and started to dribble, and after two seconds was in front of the goal – it was such a surprise, such a beautiful goal.”

The award, first established in 2009, is named after former Real Madrid striker Ferenc Puskas.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here