Rohr Drops Iheanacho, Semi Ajayi From 2019 AFCON Squad


Rohr Drops Iheanacho, Semi Ajayi From 2019 AFCON Squad

By Our Reporter

Super Eagles manager Genort Rohr has dropped Leicester City forward, Kelechi Iheanacho and Rotherham’s defender Semi Ajayi from Nigeria’s 2019 Africa Cup Of Nations squad list.

Rohr had earlier invited 25 players to camp and had to drop two from his provisional list to make way for the 23 players who will fly Nigeria’s flag at the Africa showpiece.

Iheanacho, who has had a tough season at Leicester cumulating in him having less game time in England was dropped alongside Semi Ajayi who had a good season with Rotherham but found the midfield cum defensive competition too tough to handle.

The Super Eagles will depart Asaba by a chartered flight on Sunday morning for Egypt, where they will continue their final preparations for the 32nd Africa Cup of Nations in Ismailia before heading to their tournament venue, Alexandria on 17th June.

Super Eagles still have one international friendly match to play with Senegal in Egypt before the 2019 African Nations Cup kicks off.

Nigeria play Burundi, Guinea and Madagascar in that order in the group phase of the competition scheduled for 21st June – 19th July.



Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)


Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)


Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)


Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here