“Sunday Dare Lacks Power To Dissolve Federation Boards And Should Not Be Allowed To Stand” – Dalung



    “Sunday Dare Lacks Power To Dissolve Federation Boards And Should Not Be Allowed To Stand” – Dalung

    By Niyi Busari

    The immediate past Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Barr Solomon Dalung has expressed dissatisfaction over the dissolution of 31 Sports Federations by the Ministry of Youth and Sports Development, BSNSports.com.ng can report.

    Reacting to the Ministry’s action on Friday, April 30, Dalung condemned the action of Minister of Sports, Sunday Dare dissolving the board of 31 Sports Federations.

    In an exclusive interview with BSN Sports, Dalung said: “Well it is sad that the board of the National Federation elected in June 2017 whose tenure will elapse by early June 2021 has been dissolved by the Ministry of Youth and Sports Development. This is because it seems to reverse the democratisation policy which requires that the National Federations conduct their elections themselves at the expiration of their tenures and produce elected leaders.”

    Former Minister of Sports, Barrister Solomon Dalung

    He added, “Having said this, the Minister does not have the right to dissolve the National Federations. I have read the press statement from the Ministry and it was saying so many things that are contradictory. Therefore, the development is unfortunate because it is going to result into confusion. How I wish this never happened and it should not be allowed to stand.” Dalung told BSN Sports.

    The Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare, yesterday (Friday,April 30) dissolved the board of all 31 sporting federations and set up caretaker committees to take charge of them pending when the election will hold. Dare said the decision was in line with the Olympic Charter, which stipulates a four-year tenure for all sports federations.

    Meanwhile, the boards were elected on June 13, 2017.


    The caretaker committees announced by the minister yesterday include:

    Aquatic Federation of Nigeria
    Babatunde Fatai Williams (chairman), Onyeacholam Stephen Augustus (member), and Sani Mohammed as secretary.

    Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN)
    Olamide George (chairman), Maria Wophill (member), and Prince Adisa A. Beyioku (secretary).

    Francis Orbih (chairman), Olumide Bamiduro (member), and Victor Osuoha (secretary).

    Engineer Musa Kiga (chairman), Prof Florence B. Adeyanju (member), and Afolabi Olabisi Omobola (secretary)

    Joseph Ayeni (chairman), Mrs. Uche Julie Netufo (member), and Obot Uko Monday (secretary)

    Tonobok Ojuru Okowa (chairman), Laurence Iquaibom (member), and Mariam Akande (secretary).

    Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG) Sani Muhammed (chairman), Alhaji Bode Durotoye (member), and Akinyele Dapo (secretary).

    Prof. Yahaya Adam Ukwenya (chairman), Prof Mariam Suleman (member), and Taiwo Oriss (secretary).

    Copyright©2021 bsnsports.com.ng All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management. This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here