T20 ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers: Eghosa, Sylvester 18 Others Invited To National Camp 



T20 ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers: Eghosa, Sylvester 18 Others Invited To National Camp

Akanimo Kufre

Five players from Edo State homegrown cricket high performance program have been invited among the 20 players for national camp starting Wednesday 22 April to 3rd May 2021 at Tafawa Balewa Square (TBS) Lagos. The youthful products of Edo state fast rising cricket profile includes Prosper Useni, Eghosa Destiny, Lucky Itua, Odion Isesele and state captain Peter Aho.
The Lagos camp will mark the beginning of a series of training and tours for Nigeria’s senior men’s team in preparation for upcoming ICC T20 World Cup Africa qualifiers between Kenya in November 2021.

Incidentally, Nigeria’s first ever T20 International was against Kenya in 2019 where Nigeria led by Captain Ademola Onikoyi lost by 8 wickets. Nigeria played 105/5 runs in 15 over while Kenya played 106/2 in 12.2overs in Kampala.
The current Nigerian team under Coach Asanka Gurusinha is expected to have a new trick in the bag for Kenya as they have the commitment of former Sri Lanka 1996 World Cup hero and batting legend, Asanka.

Coach Asanka over the past two months watched and personally analysed players performance during U17 and national men’s cricket championship alongside members of the coaching crew and selectors board like Coach Uthe Ugbemi and Kome Agodo.
“We have selected the best players who we believe will do well for Nigeria for the camp. We are not looking at the age at all.” Coach Asanka told our reporter in an exclusive interview.

On Nigeria’s new target in the world cup, Coach Asanka replied with a clear focus backed with newly developed cricket pathways and high-performance programs.
“Our main goal this year is to do well in the Africa qualifiers and qualify to the next stage.”
Nigeria has played 9 T20I games and won only two before Sri Lankan batting guru arrived. Some of the countries played IN 2019 ICC T20 World Cup included Ireland, Jersy, Canada, U.A.E., Oman, Hong Kong, Botswana and Ghana.
According to a press release issued on Tuesday by NCF PRO, Mr. Bodie Musa, the complete list of 20 invited players are as follows:
1. Eghosa Aghedo
2. Lucky Itua
3. Odion Isesele
4. Peter Aho
5. Prosper Useni
6. Isaac Okpe
7. Sylvester Okpe
8. Abolarin Rasheed
9. Samuel Mba
10. Chimezie Onwuzilike
11. Joshua Ayannaike
12. Mustapha Yusuf
13. Ovais yusuf
14. Ridwan Abdukareem
15. Taiwo Mohanmmed
16. Segun Ogundipe
17. Sesan Adedeji
18. Elijah Olaleye
19. Suleimon Runsewe
20. Vincent Adewoye

Copyright©2021 bsnsports.com.ng All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management. This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here