TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League: Participating Teams Confirmed


TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League: Participating Teams Confirmed

By Omolagba Oluwayemi

Participating teams for the maiden edition of the TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League has been confirmed, reports.

The tournament billed to take place on Egypt will feature eight teams in the inaugural edition with changes set to take place in subsequent editions.

The eight teams that will take part are as follows:

🇬🇶 Malabo King FC
🇬🇭 HasaacasLadies
🇿🇦 SundownsLadies
🇳🇬 Rivers_Angels
🇪🇬 wadideglafc
🇲🇱 AS Mandé
🇰🇪 Vihigaqueens

Brief introduction of the qualified teams and the zones they represent.

WAFU A (1 team)
AS Mande (Mali): They won the first two editions of Mali women’s First Division league (2017, 2021) and the National Cup four times (2012, 2014, 2015, 2016).

Hasaacas Ladies FC (Ghana): Winner of the Regional Qualifiers, the club was founded in 1996 . They are four-time winners of Ghanaian League (2013, 2014, 2015, 2021) and won the 2021 National Cup.

Rivers Angels (Nigeria): They finished as runners-up of the Regional Qualifiers. Formed in 1986, they have won seven Nigeria Women’s League titles (1994, 2010, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2021) and eight National Cups (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018)

As the zone holder of the previous Women’s AFCON 2018, and in accordance to the competition Regulations as home of current champions of Women’s AFCON, WAFU B will have they have two representatives:

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa): The club are the three-time winners of the South African Women’s Championship. They won their regional qualification recently in Durban, South Africa.

CECAFA !1 Team)
Vihiga Queens FC (Kenya): The Kenyan side have enjoyed dominance in their domestic competition winning Kenya Women’s Premier League (FKF WPL) in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

UNAF (2 Teams)
ASFAR FC (Morocco): They are eight-time Morocco League champions (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021) and seven-time winners of the National Cup known as ‘Throne Cup’ (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019)

Wadi Degla FC (Egypt): They gained automatic qualification as hosts of the tournament. The Egyptian club won its 12th domestic title (Women’s Premier League) this year. They will have two representatives with Egypt being the second club as hosts.

Malabo King FC (Equatorial Guinea): Title holder of Equatorial Guinea’s Primera Division Femenina (Women’s National League) and TNO Cup, they won UNIFFAC’s regional qualifiers.

Copyright©2021 All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management. This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here